Reports from CW Marketplace

I’ve learned enough that it’s time to see what others are doing.  I know there are SQL queries in the forum, but I want to see a finished product from Report Builder.  Best place to start is the CW Marketplace.

  • Fire up CW, expand the Other menu, and you’ll see Marketplace at the very bottom.
  • Refine your results to just “Custom Reports”
  • Start browsing and find a report you wish to work with.
  • Click the Import button (which really should say Download in this case)
  • Save the .zip file.

Actually, stop right there.  Push your chair back from the desk.  Let me save you a bunch of time.

I downloaded EVERY SINGLE REPORT listed on those 7 pages (well, not those named asdf or test) and ended up with 4 usable items.  Two saved Report Builder .rdl files and 2 files with defined queries in them.  Everything else was useless to me:

  • Partner specific output from the report.  Yes, the actual client information in a PDF.
  • Some Crystal Report .exe files that didn’t do anything but crashed when I ran them.
  • Lots of test.docx files

I was also shocked to see a couple of reports actually linking back to their publicly accessible Report Server!  I’ll be sending e-mails about those.

To hurt me more, the 2 Report Builder files weren’t really helpful.  One was even more basic than what I’ve thrown together.  The other had the wrong Data Type configured for the Parameters, so I couldn’t even enter valid data.  Easy enough to correct, but…

In the end, it was a surprisingly depressing experience.  It would be nice for CW to clean this up.  (Let me help – Delete them all!)  Hopefully things will pick up from the community (Brad?  Dan?  CW?  Anyone?).

Looks like y’all might have to rely on me a bit longer. 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment