Uninstalling and Reinstalling Reporting Services

I finally got frustrated trying to figure out permissions in SSRS.  I appear to have users in all the right places, but still couldn’t get network accounts to run reports via the web interface.

My last ditch effort was to uninstall and reinstall SSRS.  We had problems with reporting a few months back and CW Support “did stuff” to fix the problem.  I was sure my current challenges stemmed from that.

I dug around to make sure the process was as simple as Add/Remove from Control Panel.  It is.  I found this article that’s pretty straightforward about any gotchas (and there is one!).  http://blogs.msdn.com/b/mariae/archive/2009/07/10/recommendations-when-uninstalling-installing-reporting-services.aspx

Following that, 3 things happened:

1) I still have permissions problems.  At least I’m to a position now where I can set up subscriptions and send e-mails, but can’t allow assigned network accounts to run on-demand reports.  I can set up a SQL User to sign in with and generate reports, but I want Windows Authentication so that step isn’t necessary for my Exec staff.  If you have a solution, please help!

2) I found this awesome write up from ConnectWise that fully documents the uninstall/reinstall process.  Saved me tons of time from having to create the document for this site.  You’ll need a CW account to sign in to get the document.  https://university.connectwise.com/University/Content/Training/SQL-Server-Reporting-Services-2008-Configuration-Standards.pdf

3) I broke CW’s internal reporting.  Oops!  Turns out I should have thought a bit more about the warning mentioned in the first link above.  CW keeps their reports in the ReportServer database.  It wasn’t just for mine.  Manually deleting that database to get a fresh start wasn’t a brilliant move.  Fortunately, I had a super-quick response from CW Support correcting my blunder.

I’m a half step further than when I started, but am still frustrated trying to figure out permissions.  It’s not critical to me now as I can generate and send reports, but will need to come back to this soon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment